My Summer Mixtape 2014


Melodica’s head honcho Chris Coco launches “My Summer Mixtape 2014”, his second annual selection of Balearic music for the summer season, due for release on the 9th of June 2014.

The compilation covers a broad range of genres, from Dub and Electronica, to Leftfield and Bass Music, from Drum N Bass to Nu Disco and puts together some of the label’s best artists and few Chris' good friends into this uplifting Balearic journey.

The flow of the mixtape touches on each of the artists preferred styles, starting from Liston’s futuristc Electronica’s remix of ‘On The Beach’ by Nick Et Samantha, to Lisbon Kids’ mellow Reggae Dub’s version of James Arthur’s ‘Lawn Order’, followed by Glass Coffe’s leftfield tune ‘Close Your Eyes’. Gradually growing, the mixtape touches new genres with Liston’s original beats and bass track ‘Sckycrapers’ and maestro Jon Hopkins’ ethereal chill out remake of Chris Coco’s ‘Heavy Mellow’.

Following the flow Chris drops his edit of an old World Music cut, ‘Sahara’ by Ray Lehma, followed by sampling talent Ben Hauke and his groovy ‘Press’ and another extremely Dubby reggae beat from Metroland. Mr. Coco then features DnB new talent Wires’ remix of Haraket and the shifted version of Amane’s ‘Tangerine’ by Jupiter Jax. The EP closes with 2 sunset’s vibed tracks: the ace dance-floor oriented Nu Disco ‘Plaids Aquatic’ by The Village Elephant and the ethereal chill out mix of ‘Breathe The Ocean’ by Electric Zeus.

If you’re on a beach... We'll see you there.


Buy LCD £6.99




01. Written by Chris Rea recorded, produced and mixed by Chris Coco at Freedom Street, London. Guitar and Programming by Nick Cornu. Vocals by Samantha Whates. Keyboards and programming by Chris Coco. Remix by Liston.
02. Written by James McArthur. Remix & additional production by Lisbon Kid. Published by Dharma Songs.
03. Written, played and produced by Glass Coffee. Published by Copyright Control.
04. Written & Produced by Dom Ponsonby. Published by Dharma Songs.
05. Written by Puttnam & Mellor. Published by Copyright Control. Licensed from Distinctive Records.
06. Written By – Ray Lema. Licensed from Celluloid Records
07. Written and Produced by Ben Hauke. Published by Dharma Songs.
08. Written by C. Mellor. Played, produced and mixed by Chris Coco at Freedom Street, London.
09. Played and Written by Haraket. Produced and mixed by Ogul-Can (Ojan) Genc. Remix & Additional production by Wires.
10. Written and Recorded at Home by Amane. Additional remix and production by Jupiter Jax. Published By Dharma Songs.
11. Written & produced by David Mcilveen. Published by Dharma Songs.
12. Written and produced by Steve Peacock & Shane Barnes. Published by Dharma Songs. Licensed from United Recordings.
Mastered by Eugene @ Cromon